Tags

, , , ,

I had a great time in northeast Detroit during the “Candidates in the Community” forum on June 16, which featured candidates for Wayne County Executive.

The forum was held at New Covenant of Peace World Impact Ministries, led by Bishop Tony Russell and located on Van Dyke just south of Eight Mile Road. Ms. Melia Howard, a community resident, and Quinn Klinefelter, a reporter at WDET-FM 101.9, served as moderators.

In addition to sharing my dismay at the recent ethical scandals that have plagued the County Executive’s office, I shared my belief that the decision on how to proceed with the failed jail project should not be a hasty one. Exactly how Wayne taxpayers recover from this $170 million disaster should be thought through carefully, with a decision made after the 2014 election cycle.

Image

Understanding that job creation, economic development and crime are major issues for Detroit and Wayne County voters, I discussed my record as Westland mayor. I’ve worked with the business community to maintain and create thriving retail and entertainment opportunities for area residents who work and shop there. “We can do the same thing throughout the county of Wayne,” I said.

As I crisscross Wayne County’s 43 communities, I hear the same thing from residents. They want the scandals to end. They want pride restored in Wayne County. They want their kids and grandkids to have a great place to call home.

That’s why I’m running for Wayne County Executive.